Pizza Margherita

Summer means many different things to different people. Back when I was a little kid, it was summer vacation. Now, it means grilling (I’ve been working on a post about grilling, and hopefully will finish it soon.) and tomatoes. Oh, and there is always disc golf, but that isn’t really what we’re talking about today. Today is the finals of the PDGA World Championships, BTW! Congratulations are in order for Sarah Hokum (Women’s Open), Ken Climo (Master’s Open)(13x!), and Paul McBeth(Men’s Open).
Tomatoes are really a summer fruit, and the best ones come in the heat of August (at least here) and are generally best when stolen from a neighbor’s plant! Anyway, this kind of thing really just can’t be done with the crappy tomatoes you buy at the grocery store in January. Also, don’t put them in the fridge! This, and the caprese salad are really all about the tomatoes.

Here is what you’re going to need…

1 pizza crust (make your own, or use a premade crust, I tend to keep Udi’s pizza shells on hand, so we went with one of those)

some nice tomatoes I needed 4 or so small tomatoes.

herbes de provence

1 head garlic

olive oil

fresh mozzarella

fresh basil (I just pulled several leaves off the plant on my kitchen windowsill)

First thing first. Preheat your oven to 350F.  Place the entire head of garlic in a piece of aluminum foil, and drizzle it with olive oil to coat it well. Close the foil pouch and put it i the oven for roughly 45 minutes or until it is nice and tender.

The next thing is the tomatoes. Slice them about 1/4″ thick. Toss them with olive oil and herbes de provence. Place them on a baking sheet, and roast them for about 15-20 minutes until they are nice and tender.

Squeeze the foil wrapped garlic. When it is soft you are going to unwrap it(Yes, while it is still pretty warm.) and cut the top off of the head. Then you are going to squeeze the little cloves to get the soft, sweet garlic out of them. Yep, its going to be messy. Keep going, it is totally worth it!!! Get it all into a bowl, and discard the skins.

Slice your cheese about as thick as the tomatoes.

If you are making your own crust you may need to partially bake it before you top it, because all you need to do is crisp it up, and melt the cheese.

When your crust is ready, rub it with olive oil, and then the garlic you squished into a bowl. Use as much or as little as you like. I used all of it! Top with the tomatoes, add the cheese, and the tear up basil leaves and sprinkle generously on top.

Turn up the oven and bake for about 10 minutes at 400F. When the cheese has all melted… I think you know what to do from here!

3 responses

  1. Tab

    Mmmm, I’ve never thought to oven roast my tomatoes! David has a pretty good gluten free pizza crust recipe. It’s easy and you only pre bake for about 10-15 minutes. I’ll tell him to send it to you. Check out our new site!

    July 31, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    • Hi Tab! Welcome back to the Lou! I’d love to try David’s crust, although I might have it already… Quinoa, primarily if memory serves me? (It might not, so…) I decided to roast the tomatoes because I figured it would give them a more intense flavor, and I really didn’t want the raw tomato flavor. I do love them raw, but in this I wanted more out of them… They were good, but not great.

      July 31, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      • Tab

        Yeah, I think I did pass that along already! My problem with raw tomatoes is that they make the top of my pizza mushy/watery. I love sun dried tomatoes but we haven’t put any up and they’re too expensive at the store. I’m gonna try oven roasting next time!

        July 31, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

