A new chapter in my life

A couple of days ago I was waiting for orientation to start for a second bachelor’s degree. My previous degree was in the arts, and is only useful in that it fulfills lots of general requirements. I was kind of unfocused when I went to college. My degree is in General Studies, because I changed my major several times, and I just wanted to get out.

Today I started to work on a degree in dietetics. After a lot of reflection I realized that I would have a lot to offer people as a dietician, plus I have a different perspective that will help me when dealing with clients/patients. I can already cook my ass off, plus I was actually good at science when I was in school, and I have some pretty amazing support and a fantastic tutor if I need help. My friends and family have been very supportive of me going back to school, and that has been great. Although I hope I don’t end up needing a whole lot of help, my sister just got her PhD in biology… well there was more, but I am not sure I can explain… It involved traveling, and monkey poop. If I need help, I’m pretty sure she will be high on the list of people I call!

It has taken a while for me to finally make it to this point. There have been several false starts, and a lot of frustration. I’m sure there will be lots of challenges coming up, but I have a lot more focus and understanding of where I am headed now than I did when I was 18.  Realistically, what the hell do most 18 year old kids know about what they want to do for the rest of their lives? What challenges will they face? Do they know what their real strengths are? These are things that I know I have worked out over the last twenty years, maybe not completely, but I am better off now than I was then.

Twenty years after I graduated from high school I finally found a direction that actually makes sense for the skills I have, the way I think, and that I actually do want to help people feel better. I’ll be in my early to mid-forties before I finish with this degree, but I am excited about it. Of course it would have been nice to know all of this 20, even 15 or ten years ago.

I’ve also given myself a goal that I will be working on over the course of the next several years that I think will be a huge help for anyone with a dietary restriction/food allergy/food sensitivity. That is enough about that now, but when I am ready you will know what I am doing, and you will be excited!

One response

  1. Amy

    I’m proud of you, babe! And I agree — what do most 18 year olds know about what they want to be doing 15+ years in the future? 🙂
    Plus, now I can say I’m dating a college boy …

    January 18, 2012 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

