I Made Coq au Vin on a Tuesday night!!

So, I had some chicken in the fridge that I wanted to do something with. I decided I would make coq au vin. Why not? Right?

Of course right about now you might be thinking, “But that needs to marinate in red wine overnight??!?” And you would be right. So I made kind of a quick and dirty coq au vin.  It had most of the right stuff, and tasted pretty damn good, but it wasn’t quite what you would get from a traditional recipe.  Of course, it took a lot less time too! Total time: under two hours to go to the store to get a few things I needed, wash a few dishes, and get dinner cooked and on a plate! With a traditional recipe you would still be braising your chicken (If you had already marinated it!). I found this on the Epicuirous web site, and figured I’d give it a shot.  I kind of tweaked it a little, but I almost always do that.

4 strips of bacon, cut into lardons or thick strips

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I only had two handy so I went with that, but I had plenty of the sauce left.)

8 oz crimini or button mushrooms quartered

2 medium onions quartered (or you could use small onions like cipollinis or pearls.)

4 cloves garlic minced

1.5 cups dry red wine

1.5 cups chicken stock

Chopped flat leaf parsley

I didn’t thicken this, but I did let it reduce.  You could use a corn starch slurry if you want to thicken the sauce a bit before you serve it. The recipe called for a few tablespoons of AP flour to be whisked in, but that isn’t really helpful in our case.

There are a few steps to this, but it is nothing really complicated.

The first thing to do is heat some oil in a skillet, and add the bacon.  Over medium heat cook the bacon until it is crisp and brown.  Remove it from the pan. Season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Sear the chicken on both sides, and remove it. 

Now you can add the mushrooms, onions and garlic to the pan and saute them until they are lightly browned. Now, as you can see in the pictures there is a bit of brown stuff on the bottom of the pan.  That is a good thing, and it is why I didn’t use a non-stick skillet for this. That is fond. What that means is that we have a sauce to make! Deglaze the pan by pouring in part of the wine and scraping the bottom with your spoon or spatula. This will loosen up the bits from the bacon, etc.. Then add the rest of the wine and the stock, and bring it up to a boil.Return the chicken and bacon to the pan, turn down to a simmer and cover it.  Cook until the chicken is cooked through. Stir in chopped parsley, and serve! In this case I served it with some roasted potatoes and asparagus!  Not too bad for a Tuesday night! Oh, and of course it was gluten free.  Like I said you could thicken it with a corn starch slurry, in that case you would want to take the chicken out when you were ready to serve, and whisk it in while the sauce boils.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Cooking School Part 1 (A little background) « What do you want to eat??

  2. I would love it if you visited my new Gluten-Free Monday party at OneCreativeMommy.com and linked up this and any other idea you would like to share. I hope to see you there.

    October 2, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

