My Thanksgiving…

Like the last several years, my Thanksgiving will be spent at work.  The place I work will have over 200 people for lunch.  That means I will be in early, and out at about the normal time.  It also means that I don’t prepare my own turkey.  Amy will be doing that for her family, and keeping as much of it gluten-free as possible. (Everything that will be prepared here, and any leftovers will be gluten-free!) My family will be having dinner when I get there.  I’ll get off work and head to mom’s for dinner.  Pretty much as soon as I get there I will be carving the turkey, and eating.  For the last several years I have brought something to dinner. This year I have decided that I am going to make a pumpkin cheesecake! The obvious problem is the crust, but a lot of recipes also call for a little flour in the filling.  This recipe handles all of the problems, and it tastes great! Everybody who tried it really enjoyed it!

I wanted something that would taste similar to the traditional graham cracker crust.  I decided to go with some Honey Nut Chex. The Chex are a bit sweeter than the graham crackers so I left out the extra sugar that gets added normally.

The first thing you need is a spring form pan, roughly 9 inches across. What I did is put a piece of parchment paper in the bottom so it was held in place by the two pieces. This should help it not leak, and also make it easier to deal with later. (At least that is my theory. We’ll see how it works when it comes time to serve it.The first thing we’ll need to do is make our crust.

1 cup Honey Nut Chex crumbs (This took quite a bit more than one cup)

4 tablespoons butter, melted

Like I mentioned before I used Honey Nut Chex, they are gluten-free, and taste great. Since they are a little sweeter than graham crackers I didn’t add any extra sugar to the crust. Crush the Chex so you end up with a cup of crumbs.  I poured them into a zipper bag, and used a wine bottle to crush them. Once you have fairly fine crumbs, mix them with the melted butter, and mix well.  You want the mixture to just stick together a little. Then press the mixture into the bottom of your spring form pan.  I tried using my fingers, but I ended up with more on my fingers than in the pan.  I ended up using a fork to spread the crumbs evenly.

Bake the crust for ten minutes in a 350F oven, and then allow it to cool completely.  This will give you a nice solid crust for the cheesecake.

This is the first cheesecake I have ever made, so I did quite a bit of searching to find a recipe that I liked.  I knew that I was going to have to skip the crust no matter what recipe I used. I found one that I liked on Good Housekeeping’s web site. I did slightly modify it, but it was nothing that would affect the way it baked. I also doubled it, so Amy’s family could  have one, and mine could have one too.

For the filling for one cheesecake:

2 8 oz packages of cream cheese (softened)

1 1/4 cup sugar

15 oz can or half of the 29 oz can that I had (Libby’s is gluten-free and what I used)pumpkin not pumpkin pie mix

3/4 cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons of bourbon or 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (I used the bourbon)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (my tweak)

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 eggs

First thing, put the cream cheese in the bowl of your mixer, and beat it for a minute.  Then with the mixer on low add the sugar, and mix until  it is blended.  Next add all of the other ingredients except the eggs. With the mixer on low make sure that everything is well mixed. Next add the eggs, one at a time and allow each one to be completely mixed in before adding the next.  I’d let it mix a little longer just to make sure everything is combined.

Here is where things start to get interesting. Place your spring form pan in a larger pan.  Pour the pumpkin filling into the spring form pan.  Open the oven and set the whole thing on the rack of your oven.  Pour hot water into the outer pan, about an inch up the side of the spring form pan.  This will help keep the custard from cooking too quickly since the water will never go above 212F.

Close the door and set a timer for 1 hour and ten minutes. DO NOT open the door until the timer goes off.  When it does, gently move the spring form pan without removing it from the water.  If the center just giggles a little you are good to go.  Take the whole thing out of the water bath, and allow it to cool on a rack.  After a couple of minutes take a thin knife, and run it around the side of the cheesecake to release it.  This will help prevent cracks on the top as it cools. After a little while pop it in the fridge and allow it to cool over night. (This will be hard, it is going to smell fantastic!)

There was a sour cream topping that was included in the recipe, but after doubling the recipe I didn’t have enough, and decided that whipped cream or Cool Whip would be fantastic as well.

Leave it in the spring form pan until you are ready to serve. What I did (because I didn’t want to scratch my new non-stick), is open the sides and lift it off, and then take the parchment and slide the cheesecake off of the bottom very gently onto something I could cut it on. After we had all had a piece I just slid it back on to the base and put the sides back on.I had a great Thanksgiving, and I hope you did as well.  This turned out to be a lot easier than I expected, and certainly worth the time and effort to make it!

2 responses

  1. kelsey

    what temperature do you put the cheesecake in?

    October 13, 2013 at 10:32 am

    • Thanks for reading. I left the oven at 350. I hope this turns out as well for you as it did for me!

      October 13, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

