Pollo al achiote

Early in our relationship I took Amy to a restaurant that I really like.  It is this tiny place in what is a not very good neighborhood of St Louis.  The place is called Fritanga. It is a Nicaraguan restaurant, and they serve some of the most fantastic food I have ever eaten. It is not a fancy place, and you don’t ever want to go if you are in a hurry. On a busy night all of the tables will be full of people eating, drinking and talking, enjoying the food and relaxed atmosphere as well as the company of the others at their table.

Once I went gluten-free I knew that there would be some sacrifices that I would have to make when dining out.  Imagine my surprise when I found out that Fritanga is almost entirely gluten-free!!

Global Foods is a really cool place to shop for food from almost anywhere!

Amy likes the pollo al achiote, and I like the lomo de cerdo asado. The two dishes are actually pretty similar, either chicken or pork, marinated in achiote or annatto paste. Annatto seeds are ground with various spices such as cumin, and oregano.  It is a very tasty combination, but not hot.  I was at Global foods the other day and ran across a container of achiote paste. After seeing how easy it was to use the achiote when I made my chili at work I decided I would try my hand at the pollo al achiote from Fritanga.

This is what you are looking for!

This is the box you are looking for!

The first step for this dish is to marinate the chicken.  Pork loin could also be used. The lomo de cerdo asado that I frequently eat there is a thick pork loin chop that is marinated in achiote and grilled. To make the marinade combine a tablespoon of canola oil, and a tablespoon of the achiote paste.  This stuff goes a long way, and it will impart a fantastic color and very nice flavor to the chicken.

Achiote paste ready to use...

Combine the achiote and your chicken and allow it to sit for several hours in the fridge.  You could grill or bake the chicken.  In this case I decided to just bake it.

At Fritanga this would be served with gallo pinto or black beans and rice, with a side of a really tasty slaw, and plantains.  The Plantains are served one of several ways.  They give you a choice of either chips, tostones or maduros.  Any of those are fantastic choices.  I personally really like tostones!  Unfortunately, I didn’t think to pick up any plantains.  When you have them what you do with them depends on how ripe  they are.  You can make chips when they are green, tostones when they are yellow, and maduros when they are pretty well black.

In this case I just served the chicken with rice and black beans.  We had a little salad and enjoyed a very tasty dinner! 

Leave a Reply

