Lentil Soup:Eric Ripert vs. Lemmy Kilmister

«The Young Ones» en versió original subtitulada

Image by xcaballe via Flickr

I guess my past with lentils is a little strange.  I first heard of them watching The Young Ones on MTV when I was a kid.  Of course I had no idea what they were.  It was still funny to see Neil try to serve them in the episodes with all of the crazy things that went on in the show.  Tea kettles exploding, atom bombs, and then add in bands like Madness, Motörhead, and the Damned, and you’ve got a show that any 13 year old in 1986 would enjoy.

I first actually ate them at work, when I made lentil soup for the first time.  I had a recipe, and everything in it sounded pretty tasty together, and so I figured the lentils wouldn’t hurt anything.  One of the people I follow on Twitter is Eric Ripert, and from time to time he tweets recipes.    One day I saw this:

ericripert Lentil soup: lentils+onion+ carrot+bacon +water+
seasoning.when tender remove meat.Blend +butter to soup consistency.Chix stock even better.
9:04 PM Oct 19th via Twitter for iPhone

That sounded like as good a recipe as any, and maybe better than a lot of them.  Tonight for dinner, I’m making it.  Obviously, this recipe leaves plenty of room for improvisation, so I’ll do just that.

I could just leave you with Chef Ripert’s tweet, but I won’t.

1 onion, diced

2 carrots, diced

1 stick celery, diced

8 oz lentils (weight, half of a one pound bag)

1 quart chicken broth (I use Progresso, low sodium) I didn’t use the whole thing

salt, pepper, bay leaves, herbes de provence

3 TBSP butter (divided 1 and 2)

Sort and rinse your lentils.  Always sort and rinse your lentils and beans.  This is important because they are small, and about the same size as a piece of gravel or rock.  Chomping down on a rock in the middle of your lentil soup would be “heavy, man.”

Melt one tablespoon of butter in a medium sized pot. Turns out I didn’t have any bacon, but I would have put it in once the butter had melted.  Add the veggies and a pinch of salt, and sweat until the onions are clear. Add the lentils, broth, and seasonings.  Bring to a boil, and turn it down to a simmer.  You may need to add a little more broth or water as the lentils cook.  Once they are tender, remove from the heat, and puree the solids.  I strained the soup, pulled out the bay leaves, and used my little Cuisinart to do the job, but an immersion blender would do just as well. (Just a quick note, my sister knitted what I am using as a trivet in the above picture. )

Then I put the soup back together in the pot, and turned the heat back on, and added the final two tablespoons of butter.  This just added a nice bit of richness.    I always like to bring my soups back up to a boil before I serve them.  This soup could easily be made vegan by leaving out the bacon, subbing olive oil for the butter, and veggie broth for the chicken broth.  You’d still have a great tasting soup.  “Lentils are really good, you know? No matter how many times you have them, they never get boring.” — Niel

2 responses

  1. Tes

    The lentil soup sounds delicious and comforting 🙂

    December 14, 2010 at 5:26 am

  2. Patrick

    Chris,

    I did more of the kitchen sink approach. I used what I have laying around so recipes are based on that lackadazical (sp?) approach.

    1- onion diced
    2- carrot diced
    2 ish tbls of olive oil
    16 oz vegetable stock
    16 oz (possibly a bit more) h20
    1 can diced tomatos undrained
    5 oz (1/2 box) frozen spinach
    1.5 cup lentils
    .5 cup quinoa
    2 tsp or so of curry powder
    the same of cayenne pepper
    a hearty shake or so of Cumin and Cinnamon.
    s and p to taste.

    Sweat the veg in olive oil. Add the canned goods and water and bring to a boil. Toss in the spinach (oh yeah, a handful of frozen peas, just cause they’re in the freezer) lentils and quinoa. Bring back to the boil then dial it back for a 15 min simmer. Time enough for everything to get soft. Stick blender or better yet batch puree. Return to the pot for the seasoning and back on the heat. Oh yeah, here is why I suck at writing recipes. Add a skosh of siricha and lemon juice. Viola. According to my cipherin that’s vegan people. Not that I adhere to that mindset but enjoy working within that construct.

    December 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

