Farinta is the winner!

After a second attempt.  Well, several attempts actually using the original recipe I have concluded that for farinata to work you need to have a level oven.  After a change of venue, using my oven, a skillet that has a nice flat thin bottom, and a pizza stone we got better results that the previous night.  They were still not 100% satisfactory though.

 

For the sake of padding the word count here, I’ll give you a quick rundown of what I tried.  As I have researched this I have found a wide variety of recipes, and they all call for the same ingredients, but in wildly differing quantities.  All of them seem like they would make a rather thin batter.

2 cups of chickpea flour

4 cups cold water

4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 teaspoons kosher salt

Whisk the water into the chickpea flour.  I poured part of the water in, mixed it, added more, and incorporated the water and flour as I went.  Once all of the water is incorporated, whisk in the salt, cover, and allow to sit in the fridge for at least an hour.  Longer might be better.   When you are ready to go, skim off the white foam on top, and whisk in the oil.

Preheat your (hopefully level) oven to 450F, and  oil a 12 inch pan, and ladle or pour a thin layer of the batter into the bottom.  The thinner the crisper you will end up with.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  You should, at least in theory, end up with a crispy on the outsides, and soft inside flatbread.  Some of the descriptions call it almost pancake-like.  It never quite managed that for me, except for one tiny edge bit.  I put a little bit of herbs, and sliced onions on before I baked mine.  It didn’t taste bad to me, but the texture could be a little weird for some people. (That was what put Amy off!)  I even tried one on the stovetop, but since I have an electric stove I have less even heat.  This caused one spot to burn and stick, before most of it had really browned.

Once I get my oven level I will certainly try this again, although I must admit I was more than a little frustrated with having this much difficulty getting a recipe to work.  I may also look at a few other recipes to see if one looks like it might end up with a thicker batter.

Farinata is still promising to me, but I think I will be taking a break from it for now.  I have a few technical issues to work out before I try again.

Leave a Reply

