Udi’s Sandwich Contest Entry

Udi’s Gluten-Free Foods is having a contest.  The contest is to come up with a really great sandwich.  I entered it, and this post is about what I made.  I like my entry quite a bit, and I hope you guys will enjoy it, and head over to their website and cast a vote for me! Please?

I made a roasted pork sandwich with a pear onion relish, and swiss cheese.

First thing, I roasted a pork tenderloin.  I seasoned it with salt, pepper and herbes de provence.  It took about 30 minutes at 425F.  Then let it rest.To make the relish finely dice a small onion, and a medium sized pear.  Then sweat in a skillet until the onion softens, add a tablespoon of brown sugar. Allow the brown sugar to dissolve, and then season with 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper.  Deglaze the pan with a 1/4 cup of cider vinegar, and reduce to a syrup.Put that aside.  Once the pork has had a little time to rest slice thinly.  Next spread grainy mustard on the pieces of bread.  Lay the sliced pork on one side, put a spoonful of the relish, top with swiss cheese, and the next piece of bread.  From there its a pretty simple operation.  Treat it kind of like a grilled cheese sandwich.  Butter on the outsides, and into a hot skillet.  Brown the first side, and flip.  Brown on the second side.  If the cheese isn’t melted pop it in the oven for a minute when you flip it.  When you’re done with it, it should look like this.

 

I hope you guys like this. I’d appreciate it if you guys voted for my entry.  I’m not really sure if votes help, but I figure it can’t hurt to get votes.  Thanks in advance!

2 responses

  1. This sounds delicious and I left a comment on the Udi’s site saying so! I really hope you win; you deserve it with this fabulous sandwich!

    November 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    • thepantryraider

      Thanks. Obviously, I hope I win, but it was kind of fun to come up with something like this. It was really tasty!

      November 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Leave a Reply

