Bourbon Chicken

Years ago I was at a mall which was in the middle of what can best be described as a death spiral, and while waiting for a movie to start decided to have lunch at one of the restaurants in the nearby food court. All of the usual food court suspects were of course represented, but one place had a really confusing menu, and was not really a major brand type of place. The menu was sort of Cajun meets Asia, or something. They had samples, of bourbon chicken, which I had never heard of, so I tried it. It was a little spicy and somewhat sweet. I was instantly compelled to order, and years later I was still looking for a recipe. I ran across one not too long ago, and decided that I would take a shot at it. Today, after a trip to a mall, and wandering aimlessly for a bit I found the food court, and lo-and-behold samples from places wanting to drum up a little extra business, which made me think, and brings us to tonight’s dinner.

You still with me?? Ok, so since distilled alcohol is all gluten-free unless it has an added flavoring that contains gluten, bourbon is fine for us to use.

2 pounds, Boneless Chicken Breasts Cut Into Bite Sized Pieces
2 tablespoon canola oil
1 large Garlic Clove Crushed
1/2 teaspoon Fresh Ginger Minced
1 tablespoon Sambal Oolek (more or less depending on how spicy you like it. This about right.)
1/4 cup Apple Juice
1/3 cup Light Brown Sugar
2 tablespoon Ketchup
1 tablespoon Cider Vinegar
1/2 cup Water
1/3 cup Soy Sauce (make sure you have gluten-free if you need it. I like San-J’s organic tamari wheat free.)
1/4 cup Bourbon

This is really easy, and tastes great! First thing you have to do is brown the chicken. Heat the oil in the skillet and add the chicken. You don’t have to get the chicken fully cooked now, so don’t worry about that. Set this aside and put everything else in the skillet. I measured everything before I started the chicken and had it all in a bowl, so I could pour it in the skillet. Heat this up, and get the brown sugar dissolved. Put the chicken back in the pan, and bring it all up to a boil, then turn it down, and let it simmer for 20 minutes. I would make sure to stir things just to make sure the chicken is coated evenly with the sauce. Serve over some rice, and enjoy.

So, there you have it. Now you have one more reason to avoid going to the mall! Really tasty food that you thought only happened in the food court!

One response

  1. Amy

    Really, really good, babe! Loved it!

    August 2, 2010 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

