I wanted pasta, and I wanted pork!

Ok, so I pretty much always want pork.  Now that that is cleared up… tonight’s dinner.  The thing is Amy doesn’t like pork, and I do, so I don’t cook it very often when she’s around, because she doesn’t like it.  She’s busy, and I felt like cooking something.  I had some pork tenderloin in the freezer, and this seemed like a great time to use it.

Now, an Italian will always tell you that you should have the sauce waiting for the pasta, and not the other way.  Pasta should always be al dente.  So, start your sauce first!!  The other day I bought some really tasty marinara(if you are wondering, its Tony’s St. Louis), and I have some Schär fusilli.

The first thing I did was to get the pasta water started, and then wait until it was almost up to a boil before I did anything else.

Next, I seasoned a few slices of the tenderloin and seared it in a small skillet.  After I turned the pieces over I poured in a little bit of white wine, and let that reduce a little, and then added the marinara.  I put the skillet in the oven at 350F.  Then I added the pasta to the water, and set the timer for 10 minutes.  Cook the pasta according to the directions, and adjust the timing as needed.  I cut the tenderloin thin enough that it would cook through in about the time the pasta took to cook.

Once the pasta was done I drained it, poured it into a bowl, and tossed it in the sauce and added the pork and some shredded mozzarella.  It was very tasty dinner, and quick too!

Leave a Reply

