Jerk Chicken!

Tonight I decided that I wanted jerk chicken.  There is a Jamaican restaurant here that I went to before I went gluten-free.  They have the most amazing jerk chicken.  It is served on the bone which is the way to get the best flavor.  They also serve it with rice, beans and some steamed cabbage.  Add a Red Stripe beer or a ginger beer, and you have a fantastic dinner!  Of course I can’t go out to eat all of the time, and if I decide I want to eat something I will figure out what to do to make it work.  In this case, it was pretty easy!

The first thing I did was to soak my beans.  I had about a half cup of black beans, and covered them with hot water and let them sit for a couple of hours.  Drain the beans and then cover them with water, and put them on the stove over medium heat.  Once they were starting to get tender I added some chopped onion, and cumin.

To cook the chicken I used my cast iron grill pan, and a brick.  I lined the pan with foil, and wrapped the brick with foil too.  They both went into the oven, and I preheated it to 375.  The foil keeps everything nice and clean.

Next I mixed some jerk seasoning with a little honey, and lime juice.  I use Walkerswood Jerk Seasoning, it has great flavor, but it is also very spicy.  That’s the reason for the honey and lime juice!  I rubbed this mixture on the chicken breasts, and then placed them in my grill pan.  I put them  in skin side down.  I figured that would give me the best contact with the pan since the brick wouldn’t cover both breasts.  Then I put the brick on top of the chicken so it would press on both of the largest parts of the breasts.This all went into the oven.  I figured about 25 minutes.  The brick presses the meat onto the grill, and since it was also very hot when it went onto the chicken it helped cook it faster.  I started the rice when I got the chicken in the oven.  The rice I bring up to a boil, and then down to a simmer for 10 minutes.  After that I turn off the heat, another 10 minutes, and the rice is done.That’s pretty much it! It tasted great, and it was really easy.  Cook something spicy!

Leave a Reply

