Tea Smoked Chicken!

As I continue in my quest to keep myself entertained, and fed I ran across an idea that was given to me years ago by a friend who was in culinary school at the time.  I had a duck, and no idea what to do with it.  She recommended tea smoking it.  I made duck a’la orange instead.  Today I only had chicken, but I had tea, so I made tea smoked chicken.

First thing, I wanted to marinade the chicken to keep some moisture.  I put the chicken in a vacuum bag with some San-J Polynesian glaze.   Next time, I might try something else, but this was pretty tasty.  

Next, I got my tea mixture together.  I took 6 tea bags, a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of uncooked rice, and one star anise, and combined that in a cup.  The really important thing I did was to line my skillet with a double layer of aluminum foil.  The tea went in the center of the pan.  I also took the rubber feet and the plastic handle off my steamer basket.  I sprayed that with non-stick spray, and placed it in the pan.  The chicken went on the steamer basket.  Then obviously, put the lid on, tightly!

The only thing left was to put the chicken on the stove. (In hind-sight, 20-20, you know outside on my Coleman Stove would maybe have been a better idea.) I opened my back door, and turned on the fan to blow as much smoke out as possible.  It didn’t smoke a lot, but my apartment does smell a little smoky now.  After about 12 minutes on high, I pulled the lid off and checked.  The chicken was done, and nice and juicy, and had a really nice mahogany color.  I served it with some rice, and sautéed carrots and snow peas. 

Next time I will do a few things differently, but it was a tasty experiment.  Tons of flavor, and pretty quick.  I know, I know, why was I making a smoker on my stove?  Three layers of foil next time.  I’m also thinking that cutting the chicken into cubes will speed things up.  The smokiness was a bit intense, and less time in the smoke would take the edge off of that.

One response

  1. Amy

    It was still really, really good! 🙂

    May 28, 2010 at 8:32 am

Leave a Reply

