Use up the sacrifices to the bread gods!

If you have done any sort of baking you know that sometimes things don’t always work out quite the way you had planned.  Or, maybe that is just me… When I started doing gluten free baking I also started saving crusts, and the occasional chunk of bread that collapsed because I cut into it too soon, etc..  Tonight Amy and I were looking around my apartment wondering what to have for dinner.  We had picked up some asparagus, and I was going to use up the multi-color fingerling potatoes I bought, I had some chicken, so there you go.  That of course left the question of what to do with the chicken.

I rinsed the potatoes, tossed them in a little canola oil, herbes de provence, salt and pepper.  They went into a small skillet, and into the oven at 350F.  They take a little longer so they were first.

I took a couple pieces of bread out of the baggy in the freezer, and stuck them in my food processor.  I chopped them into breadcrumbs while they were still frozen.  Then I added some herbes de provence, salt, and pepper.  Next, I had Any squirt some stone ground mustard on the chicken breasts, which I then rubbed around, and then dredged in the breadcrumb mixture.  They went in a baking pan, and into the oven.

When the chicken was almost done I put a small amount of oil in a skillet, and then about two tablespoons of butter.  When the butter melted and stopped foaming I added the bunch of asparagus, and a little bit of salt.  Then I sautéed them until they were bright green and tender.

All in all a very tasty, and easy dinner!   Granted it didn’t take up anywhere near the amount of screwed up bread experiments that I have left in the freezer, but it made a ding in the leftovers!

One response

  1. thepantryraider

    So, something came to me this morning. I wanted the crumbs to have a little crispiness, which they didn’t have. Normally panko would be toasted before you even buy it. If you are looking for that crunchiness, lightly toast your bread crumbs before you put it on the chicken. It really did taste great, but a little crunch would have made it better!

    May 9, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

